Retrofit new MIB into older RNS/RCD car.

Technical discussion such as Bluetooth, Sat-Nav, iPods, tyres, brakes, all that kind of stuff.

Re: Retrofit new MIB into older RNS/RCD car.

Postby G60ffg » Fri Apr 12, 2019 11:10 pm

Does anyone know if the green and blue plugs are wired the same between the RNS and DM? I can’t find an adapter that has them all wired in so was hoping I could move them from the original plug to the adapter I’ve got.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
G60ffg
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 5:33 pm
I drive a: GT 2.0 TDI 140/150
In: Candy White
With a: Manual box

Re: Retrofit new MIB into older RNS/RCD car.

Postby Crucifixzz » Mon Apr 22, 2019 7:32 am

mateuszmiast wrote:Hi Steve,

upgrade is worth doing but there are some issues you must to mind. Main problem is with the unit because CP can't be removed on vehicle which had no this funcionality from factory, even if you have facelifted model. When you get already blocked stereo you can unlock it with main dealer in vehicle with MIB2 factory fitted but all SWaP functions will be deleted (MirrorLink, NAV, BT, etc.). To activate them you must buy codes from dealer what is not cheap. Best solution is to buy just removed unit from donor car with all options you want to have active. After getting stereo as described you must patch it with hardware (soldered on mainboard) to prevent it from blocking after 8hrs (in vehicle with cluster SW lower than 1xxx). If you have cluster with SW1xxx you must install CAN filter which is disabling cp blocking information from cluster on CAN network.

Regarding other issues, DAB amplifier is needed when your unit has DAB tuner. You must change as I remeber left amplifier in C pillar and wire it, aerial is the same. USB connection or USB hub (what I recommend especially if you think about MirrorLink) is a piece of cake, just installing ports, HUB and wiring. Sat nav aerial of course is needed if your car has not sat nav from factory. Gateway 7N0907530AN (BC/BG) in necessary to work with 5F units.

I made a few conversion with MIB2, so if you have any questions plese do not hesitate to ask.

If you are looking for unit I have 5C0035680E with DAB, MirrorLink, Voice Control, BT, NAV, Wifi, etc. active, patched, with 2xUSB connector hub, gateway, sat nav VDO aerial and quadlock adapter for £700 shipped with DPD.


what hardware modification did you do to MIB PQ unit?
Crucifixzz
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 10:19 pm
I drive a: GT 2.0 TSI
In: Reflex Silver
With a: DSG box
Options: Hybrid K04 Turbo by Loba

Re: Retrofit new MIB into older RNS/RCD car.

Postby G60ffg » Fri Apr 26, 2019 10:42 pm

The following link describes the modifications quite well:
https://www.briskoda.net/forums/applica ... p?id=89213


mateuszmiast wrote: If you have cluster with SW1xxx you must install CAN filter which is disabling cp blocking information from cluster on CAN network.


I’m part way through this retro fit, had my unit patched by vcdsworx, and I need a CAN filter but I’m having trouble finding exactly what I need. Are you able to point me in the right direction?
G60ffg
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 5:33 pm
I drive a: GT 2.0 TDI 140/150
In: Candy White
With a: Manual box

Re: Retrofit new MIB into older RNS/RCD car.

Postby Crucifixzz » Mon May 20, 2019 2:15 pm

G60ffg wrote:The following link describes the modifications quite well:
https://www.briskoda.net/forums/applica ... p?id=89213


mateuszmiast wrote: If you have cluster with SW1xxx you must install CAN filter which is disabling cp blocking information from cluster on CAN network.


I’m part way through this retro fit, had my unit patched by vcdsworx, and I need a CAN filter but I’m having trouble finding exactly what I need. Are you able to point me in the right direction?


Ahh! I should send to the unit to vcdsworx to have the patched install as an extra circuit board needs to be installed. Where did you get the head unit?
Crucifixzz
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 10:19 pm
I drive a: GT 2.0 TSI
In: Reflex Silver
With a: DSG box
Options: Hybrid K04 Turbo by Loba

Re: Retrofit new MIB into older RNS/RCD car.

Postby G60ffg » Mon May 20, 2019 7:46 pm

Yep that’s it! Got mine from eBay, was a fairly new one out of a T5. Needed an extra CAN filter as mine is a facelift model so the component protection still cut in so that was an extra expense but working great now.

Service from VCDSWorx was really good, quick turnaround and very helpful.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
G60ffg
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 5:33 pm
I drive a: GT 2.0 TDI 140/150
In: Candy White
With a: Manual box

Re: Retrofit new MIB into older RNS/RCD car.

Postby Crucifixzz » Tue May 21, 2019 7:40 am

G60ffg wrote:Yep that’s it! Got mine from eBay, was a fairly new one out of a T5. Needed an extra CAN filter as mine is a facelift model so the component protection still cut in so that was an extra expense but working great now.

Service from VCDSWorx was really good, quick turnaround and very helpful.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


I'm thinking about getting the headunit from eBay too but I don't know the CP counter of each unit. I understand that the CP counter can't be reset in pre-facelift car.
Crucifixzz
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 10:19 pm
I drive a: GT 2.0 TSI
In: Reflex Silver
With a: DSG box
Options: Hybrid K04 Turbo by Loba

Re: Retrofit new MIB into older RNS/RCD car.

Postby G60ffg » Tue May 21, 2019 6:57 pm

I think VCDSWorx can remove the CP when it’s patched. Mine had the CP active and they were able to sort it. Might be worth dropping them a message to ask.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
G60ffg
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 5:33 pm
I drive a: GT 2.0 TDI 140/150
In: Candy White
With a: Manual box

Re: Retrofit new MIB into older RNS/RCD car.

Postby spacewalker » Sat May 25, 2019 12:24 pm

at the moment ... all radio can be do ;)
radio what have CP activate already on the screen, or working radio what need only add extra option (like voice command for example)

all available unit Skoda, Seat, VW ..... US , EU, China

CAN filter and patch need only when radio have CarNet enable , because system is checking car VIN and compare with registered VIN in radio
If radio have no CarNet... only need proper Quad Lock from RNS 510 to MIB and all is working, and never been lock
more info on PM
User avatar
spacewalker
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 7:00 pm
Location: West EU
I drive a: GT 2.0 TDI 170/184
In: Urano Grey
With a: DSG box

Re: Retrofit new MIB into older RNS/RCD car.

Postby Crucifixzz » Tue May 28, 2019 9:05 am

Crucifixzz
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 10:19 pm
I drive a: GT 2.0 TSI
In: Reflex Silver
With a: DSG box
Options: Hybrid K04 Turbo by Loba

Re: Retrofit new MIB into older RNS/RCD car.

Postby Crucifixzz » Wed Jun 12, 2019 7:57 am

https://uk-polos.net/viewtopic.php?t=72768

Saw this forum. Can CP deactivation be done without patching board?
Crucifixzz
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 10:19 pm
I drive a: GT 2.0 TSI
In: Reflex Silver
With a: DSG box
Options: Hybrid K04 Turbo by Loba

Re: Retrofit new MIB into older RNS/RCD car.

Postby Mostic » Wed Sep 18, 2019 11:45 am

Marius336 wrote:VW cant do it.

You need Spezial board soldert on the main board, ore you can do 3d Premium Cluster and use Component Protekion like factory,

!!!! But VW cant do it !!!!

Ask VCDSWorks ore VAGMods on Facebook, they do evry DM here in germany.


Hi, I have the 3D premium cluster installed in my 2011 Scirocco car, do I still need to go for the special board on the mainboard? or I can remove the Component Protection using the ODIS?
Thanks
Mostic
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 4:05 am
I drive a: R-Line
In: Oryx White
With a: DSG box
Options: Let's wait until I start the mods :)

Re: Retrofit new MIB into older RNS/RCD car.

Postby Mostic » Wed Sep 18, 2019 12:06 pm

G60ffg wrote:The following link describes the modifications quite well:
https://www.briskoda.net/forums/applica ... p?id=89213
mateuszmiast wrote: If you have cluster with SW1xxx you must install CAN filter which is disabling cp blocking information from cluster on CAN network.

I’m part way through this retro fit, had my unit patched by vcdsworx, and I need a CAN filter but I’m having trouble finding exactly what I need. Are you able to point me in the right direction?


Hi,
I read the document but I still have questions.
Is it possible that the Official VW Dealer assign the 2011 Rocco VIN to the MIB II Discover Media so it can work fine without any problems? And if he did it then should I do the motherboard patching?
Thx
Mostic
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 4:05 am
I drive a: R-Line
In: Oryx White
With a: DSG box
Options: Let's wait until I start the mods :)

Re: Retrofit new MIB into older RNS/RCD car.

Postby Marius336 » Wed Sep 18, 2019 12:39 pm

VW wont do it

There are 2 Options with youre 3D Cluster.
1. Solder board on mainboard AND use Can-filter for youre 3d cluster ( 2D and black and white dont need that. )
2. fuse Cluster and Radio togethere like factory ( only works on 3d cluster ) VCDSWorkx will do this VW not.
Marius336
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 1:32 pm
I drive a: 1.4 TSI 122/125
In: Deep Black
With a: Manual box

Re: Retrofit new MIB into older RNS/RCD car.

Postby Mostic » Wed Sep 18, 2019 1:14 pm

Marius336 wrote:VW wont do it

There are 2 Options with youre 3D Cluster.
1. Solder board on mainboard AND use Can-filter for youre 3d cluster ( 2D and black and white dont need that. )
2. fuse Cluster and Radio togethere like factory ( only works on 3d cluster ) VCDSWorkx will do this VW not.


May I ask why VW won’t do it? My question is can they do it or not? If they can do it using their official tool then appreciate telling me how?

What is the fuse Cluster and Radio means?
Sorry for keep asking :)
Mostic
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 4:05 am
I drive a: R-Line
In: Oryx White
With a: DSG box
Options: Let's wait until I start the mods :)

Re: Retrofit new MIB into older RNS/RCD car.

Postby Marius336 » Wed Sep 18, 2019 2:34 pm

VW only can do it in cars with the Discover media from factory. So only replace broken unit.

If VW try to deaktivat the Component protection in youre car, ODIS will tell its not for this Car.

VCDSWorkx can make youre Cluster and DM together like factory, what VW cant do to older cars. So you dont need the can filter and Component protektion is activ, like factory but on older car.
Marius336
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 1:32 pm
I drive a: 1.4 TSI 122/125
In: Deep Black
With a: Manual box

Previous

Return to Tech Talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 16 guests