Remap - potential MPG gains?

Everything about the R for potential owners.
shrink
I drive a: Scirocco R
In: Rising Blue
With a: Manual box
Options: Dynaudio
19" Wheels
Folding Mirrors
Parking Sensors

Remap - potential MPG gains?

Post by shrink »

So as some of you will know, I'm new to the world of Roc ownership and I'm hugely enjoying my R!

However, a change in personal circumstances means I'm likely to need something just a tiny little bit more economical.

My last long motorway trip, I took it VERY easy on the roc, and drove between 65-70 most of the way, very gentle throttle, and absolutely no flooring it at any point. I was barely able to squeeze 34mpg out of the car. While not a problem in itself, I need a car that's capable of at least 36-37mpg on longer trips to make future plans feasible.

Would a remap offer any likely gains in MPG when driving gently? e.g. cruise control at 70mph. Would 3-4mpg be in any way likely?

Would appreciate the input of users who have gone through this process.

I don't mind worse economy when I'm hoofing the car around at weekends, and for short trips in town. I'm more worried about being able to get high 30's on a long motorway run!
Boydie
In: Viper Green
Options: Cloth R Logo Sports Seats
Dynaudio sound system
RCD510 touch screen
Xenons with coming home function
Footwell lights
Media Pack
Privacy Glass
FBMFSW

Re: Remap - potential MPG gains?

Post by Boydie »

Very doubtful

If you drive like a granny you may get a few points here and there due to the increase toque figures produced by the map but ultimately thats not what you tune your car for

With the price of fuel these days and 34mpg in a R I would be laughing all day :)
Boydie
Options: Cloth R Logo Sports Seats
Dynaudio sound system
RCD510 touch screen
Xenons with coming home function
Footwell lights
Media Pack
Privacy Glass
FBMFSW

Post by Boydie »

In my 8P S3 with Revo 2+ around 370bhp my car was between 27-30mpg which was awesome