Page 1 of 1

Sync button swap

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2019 9:47 pm
by Sebback
I have retrofittet a climate control from a 2013 VW Passat CC, I purchased the climate control from eBay, shipped from Ireland that means the Sync button is on the right side for controlling both the temperature, and my car is LHD. Is it possible to code it to the left side?

Re: Sync button swap

PostPosted: Fri Oct 11, 2019 8:04 am
by Cuprabob
I didn't realise the button locations on the climate control panels were any different between LHD and RHD variants. I'm not sure how easy it is to modify the firmware on the climate control module and whetjer it can be done using VCDS. Maybe worth a look on the Ross Tech website wiki.

I've had my Scirocco for over 8 years and can't remember ever using the button :)

Re: Sync button swap

PostPosted: Fri Oct 11, 2019 9:21 am
by Cuprabob
On mine the temp sync function syncs to the temp setting on the driver's side therefore on your panel it may sync to the setting on the passenger side, so if the button position annoys you, this may do so too.

Re: Sync button swap

PostPosted: Fri Oct 11, 2019 12:34 pm
by Sebback
Problem is, when I press the Sync button It's the passenger side that can change both temperatures, so if possible to do something that can make the drivere side to control both temperatures when pressing the Sync button.

Re: Sync button swap

PostPosted: Fri Oct 11, 2019 2:58 pm
by Cuprabob
Sebback wrote:Problem is, when I press the Sync button It's the passenger side that can change both temperatures, so if possible to do something that can make the drivere side to control both temperatures when pressing the Sync button.


Yes, so basically what I was referring to in my last post. Sorry, I'm not aware of an easy solution.

Re: Sync button swap

PostPosted: Fri Oct 11, 2019 4:29 pm
by Sebback
I think it's possible to do, maybe in the "secret menu" in the climatronic. Just don't want to fuck things up in that menu :?

Re: Sync button swap

PostPosted: Fri Oct 11, 2019 5:56 pm
by Cuprabob
As far as I know the "secret menu" doesn't allow you to change anything but only display data from the various sensors and fault codes relevant to the climate control system.

If you do find out it can be done, please come back and post details incase anyone has a similar issue in the future.

Good luck...

Re: Sync button swap

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2019 8:16 pm
by Sebback
Figured it out, by swapping pin 16 with pin 20 and leaving pin 20 with no connection, all works now.

Re: Sync button swap

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2019 8:28 pm
by Cuprabob
Good stuff :D

Re: Sync button swap

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2019 10:52 pm
by Sebback
Sure is, but thanks to the other article with the retrofit of the newer version of the climate control I've never achieved this haha :clap: